?

Log in

No account? Create an account

The Invincible M.A.E.


Previous Entry Share Next Entry
Mae
harleymae

That meme

You know how sometimes people on your friend's list post about stuff going on in their life, and all of a sudden you think "Wait a minute? Since when are they working THERE? Since when are they dating HIM/HER? since when???" And then you wonder how you could have missed all that seemingly pretty standard information, but somehow you feel too ashamed to ask for clarification because it seems like info you *should* already know? It happens to all of us sometimes.

Please copy mine below, erase my answers putting yours in their place then post it in your journal!



1. First Name:

Mae. Well, not really, but close enough. I don't want to put my real name out there because I write gay porn.

2. Age:

33

3. Location:

Right now I'm in Long Beach for work, but I live in wonderful San Francisco! I've been there since 2001. 1998-2001 I was in Cupertino (Silicon Valley), 1994-1998 I was in college at Stanford and before that I was in Singapore. Most people think that I came over here when I was a little kid because I basically have no detectable accent (depending on who I'm around) so I always feel the need to point out that I came here as an adult, as sort of a warning that I might do something Foreign at any given moment.

4. Partner:

None! I still need a little more time to be me. :D Give me a fuckbuddy and my life is complete, heh.

5. Occupation:

I'm a programmer, aka software developer or whatever. I don't care, I'm not fussy. We are the muckers and grinders of the IT world, hee! I actually quite like what I do, although I don't like dealing people. I really appreciate that I can come into work pretty much any time of day and can wear what I want and dye my hair teal. Working with friends makes things even cooler with inappropriate jokes and endless hilarity/stupidity. :)

6. Kids:

I am terrified to have children because my childhood was so shitty and I don't want to put anyone through that. I have 3 older sisters and only one of them has a kid. The ones who don't are similarly traumatized, I believe. :P

7. Brothers/Sisters:

Umm, I guess I kinda' skipped ahead. I have 3 older sisters aged 44 (going on 45), 42 and 39.

Mylene is the oldest and also a rabbit like me, so maybe that's why we're the most similar. She is super cool. She plays the bass and has played in a jazz band in the past and is part of a Christian band now that has a pretty interesting sound! Funk/jazz/fusion/etc etc. She was my idol when I was a kid, hehe. She's an interior designer and lives in Perth, Western Australia with her husband Don. We're the most similar because we were the biggest rebels, always clashing with my mother.

Adelene is #2. She was my "second mother" when I was a kid and would show me affection and be supportive of me--you know the kind of things that MOST mothers do, haha. Unfortunately, she left for university in Australia when I was 10 so bye bye to love and support. I'm happy that she's the one who has a kid. :) She lives in Singapore with her husband James, who is 8 years younger than her (cradle robbing runs in the family--Mylene had a 19 yo bf when she was 27, and y'all already know about me, heh). I still don't fucking know what his last name is, but all Chinese people have the same last names anyway. She used to work in a blood bank, then sold medical equipment and I think she's working part-time these days, but I don't know as what.

Helene is #3. In some ways I think of her as being my younger sister rather than 6 years older because she's lived such a sheltered/protective life. I had to explain what oral sex was to her when I was 10 and she was 16. It's possible she was horrified (while Adelene was kind of suspicious as to how I'd learned about it and I was all, check out dad's porn!!! And me and my sisters sat around reading my dad's porn and he came in and grumbled at us but we told him to go away) Anyway, she lives at home and has never done otherwise. She's 39. She's a brilliant writer, but I don't think she's written anything in years. I think she inspired me to write when I was a kid. :) Nothing I write (or will ever write) compares to her stuff. She's a lawyer and has hated it her entire professional career.

8. Pets:

None. I'm a lazy fucker. I used to have 2 shrimp in an ecosphere, but they died. RIP, Petr and Jason!

9. List the 3-5 biggest things going on in your life:

- work

I've been working like a mofo ever since Alex had his baby (and quite a bit even before that). I need to slow down or take a vacation at some point. Being in Long Beach is nice in that I get to do vacation-like things but it's like working on vacation and then ending up not sleeping enough blah blah. SO GOOD SEEING TAMMY THOUGH!!! I can't even express how happy I am to see her. :D And I will have her on Saturday again, muahahaha!

- ?

Something that should be friends locked just because I'm talking about RL. I think I can just say "EW" and that should be self-explanatory.

- sports

Normally it would be HOCKEY HOCKEY HOCKEY but it's the off-season now so I guess I'm vaguely following baseball and wow the summer Olympics are coming up and *SQUEAKS* USA WOMEN'S VOLLEYBALL!!! Probably the only time you'll ever see me excited about Team USA and Stanford sports respectively. Oh Logan Tom, my sweet girlcrush!

10. Where and for what did you go to school for?:

Wow, I keep skipping ahead with the answers. I went to Stanford and was an electrical engineering major but never graduated. :P Every now and then I think of going back to finish my degree, but what's the point? I'm not interested in being an electrical engineer anymore and it's not like it would help my career. But every now and then I do think about and even dream about it. :)

11. Parents?:

Kwai Kwan (Mary, although nobody's ever called her that--I think she was kind of obligated to pick up an English name in Catholic school) and Chuan Lim (Robert, he was given that name when he went to university in London, King's College!). My mom is kind of crazy and I haven't talked to her in over 10 years. Not that I'm mad at her, I just don't think she's a positive influence in my life, and all I would ever do is aggravate her, so better not to keep in contact for both of us, I think. :) She raised me in a seriously fucked up way, though, guys it's pretty amazing I'm even functional, hehe. My dad is a sweetie, but not really a dad, more like a fellow sufferer under the reign of terror. He's one of those unintentionally hilarious people. I've inherited his weirdness.

  • 1
I love that your dad merely "grumbled" upon discovering you and your sisters with his porn.

I think my mother was in denial of porn until she accidentally took me to a Vegas strip show when I was twelve.

He's a little afraid of us.

Anytime anybody went overseas, they would always bring back porn magazines for my dad cos' porn is illegal in Singapore. So my mom would bring back stuff from Hong Kong, and my sisters from Australia when they came back from uni.

I went on a West Coast of US (+ Canada) trip when I was 11 and my mom was grabbing porn for him, and I was like, "how about this one???" pointing at a Hustler magazine. It must have been very strange for anyone who was observing us. Then again, we were in SF, so.

My dad really liked that Hustler magazine.

Your sisters' names made me giggle. ;P As well as the story about your dad walking in on you and your sisters reading his porn and you guys telling him to go away. XD

We definitely have a theme going. It was very fascinating porn! It was from the late '50s/early '60s and there was definitely that whole vibe of sexual experimentation and new frontiers and the articles were all very informative and almost scientific in some ways.

*g* Quick do something foreign!

I said "bahth" British style the other day instead of "bath" the American way and my roommate didn't understand me!

**laughs** I love the dad who just grumbles upon finding his daughters in his porn stash. That's hilarious.

I love this meme - I had no idea you were in your early thirties! I guess I assume everyone on my f-list is mired in their twenties, except for the handful that all seem to be just graduating highschool all at once.

He is hilarious in so many ways and has no idea he is.

It is very cool to read everyone's answers! Have you done it yet? I haven't been reading LJ all that regularly lately so I may have missed it. :(

Nobody who meets me in person even ever thinks I'm my age. My friend's cousin thought I was around her age (22) haha.

I did it last weekend, though I didn't go into as much fun and interesting detail as you ;)

My friend's cousin thought I was around her age (22) haha.

Heh. People always think I'm younger than I am, as well, but not by 11 years. That's gonna be especially awesome for you when you hit your 50s, I am sure ;)

  • 1